Villers sur Mer and the Surroundings

In Villers, no need for a car. You can soak up fresh air and fill yourself with beautiful walks by the water or on the hollow paths of the hinterland. You will take advantage of the immense beach with its 2 km of dike promenade before setting off to explore the astonishing cliffs of the Vaches Noires. Paleolithic site of world renown, the cliffs are accessible at low tide by the beach where the search for fossils will amuse young and old. It should be noted that the name of black cows does not come from the cliffs themselves but from the large blocks collapsed on the shore which evoke from a distance or very far a herd of cows.

It is true that in Normandy, cows are everywhere; so when you are drunk with sea air, you will turn your back to the sea to cross the paths of the bocage in the heights of Villers. Discovery of a farm, visit of a beekeeper, tasting of the trilogy of Camembert, Pont évêque and Livarot cheeses will enhance your days. Still in Villers, the Marais, a 30 hectare wetland, is a precious heritage managed by the coastal conservatory. You will observe a rich flora and fauna including many migrating birds .

A little further, 7 km away, Deauville, a legendary resort well known to stars, will bring you closer to the Parisian atmosphere while, on the other side of the Touques, Trouville-sur-Mer will delight you with its fish market on the quays, its maze of small streets, its fishermen's houses and its famous staircases like that of the 100 steps. The Roches Noires hotel where Marguerite Duras loved to stay will make you dream of literature.

West side, another meeting with the writers, Cabourg, immortalized by Marcel Proust under the name of Balbec in "In the shade of the young girls in flowers" is a renowned resort with its villas, its casino and its golden sandy beaches .

Do not forget, by the way, Dives-sur-mer from where William the Conqueror set off to conquer England with an impressive fleet. Since then, the sea has receded but the medieval craft village remains attractive with the Notre Dame church and the Halles from the 14th and 15th centuries still in use. Do not miss the Saturday market.

Address :

Hôtel des Falaises

15 Rue du Maréchal Foch

14640 Villers-sur-Mer   

 

Access facilities:

2 hours from Paris

15 mins from Deauville

20 mins from Cabourg

35 mins from Honfleur

Plan :

Follow us :

  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter propre
  • Trip Advisor App Icon

Villers sur Mer et les Environs

A Villers, pas besoin de voiture. Vous pouvez vous gorger d’air pur et vous rassasier de belles promenades au bord de l’eau ou sur les chemins creux de l’arrière pays. Vous profiterez de l’immense plage avec ses 2 km de digue promenade avant de partir à la découverte des étonnantes falaises des Vaches Noires. Site paléolithique de renommée mondiale, les falaises sont accessibles à marée basse par la plage où la recherche de fossiles amusera petits et grands. Il faut noter que le nom de vaches noires ne vient pas des falaises elles mêmes mais des grands blocs éboulés sur la grève qui évoquent de loin ou de très loin un troupeau de vaches.

Il est vrai qu’en Normandie, les vaches sont partout ; ainsi quand vous serez saoulés d’air marin, vous tournerez le dos à la mer pour sillonner les sentiers du bocage dans les hauteurs de Villers. Découverte d’une ferme, visite d’un apiculteur, dégustation de la trilogie des fromages Camembert, Pont l’évêque et Livarot agrémenteront vos journées. A Villers encore, le Marais, zone humide de 30 hectares, est un patrimoine précieux géré par le conservatoire du littoral. Vous y observerez une flore et une faune riches dont de nombreux oiseaux en migration.

Un peu plus loin, à 7 km, Deauville, station de légende bien connue des stars, vous rapprochera de l’ambiance parisienne alors que, de l’autre côté de la Touques, Trouville-sur-Mer vous ravira avec son marché aux poissons sur les quais, son dédale de petites rues, ses maisons de pêcheurs et ses célèbres escaliers comme celui des 100 marches. L’hôtel des Roches Noires où aimait séjourner Marguerite Duras vous fera rêver de littérature.

 

Côté ouest, autre rendez-vous avec les écrivains, Cabourg, immortalisé par Marcel Proust sous le nom de Balbec dans «A l’ombre des jeunes filles en fleurs» est une station renommée avec ses villas, son casino et ses plages de sable doré.

N’oublions pas, au passage, Dives-sur-mer d’où Guillaume le Conquérant partit à la conquête de l’Angleterre avec une flotte imposante. Depuis, la mer a reculé mais le village artisanal médiéval reste attractif avec l’église Notre Dame et les Halles du 14 et 15 ème siècle encore utilisées. Ne pas manquer le marché du samedi.

Adresse :

Facilités d'accès :

Plan :

Suivez nous :

Hôtel des Falaises

15 Rue du Maréchal Foch

14640 Villers-sur-Mer   

 

à 2h de Paris

à 15 mn de Deauville

à 20 mn de Cabourg

à 35 mn de Honfleur

  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter propre
  • Trip Advisor App Icon